Business Support Research (post-award)

The Finance Research Support Team provide financial management, guidance and support for externally funded research projects. Supporting academic and professional staff to ensure the University maximises research income and mitigates risk.

Key activities include:-

  • Initiate kick off meetings with Principal Investigators (PI’s) and professional services when a grant is awarded.
  • Provide integral support throughout the life cycle of the project.
  • Provide meaningful financial reports to PI’s on project status.
  • Provide training in the form of research surgeries to all existing and new PI’s.
  • Manage control activities in accordance with grant agreements and policy in order to ensure compliance.


Contact us

For specific or general guidance with regard to your particular area please email: Finance.businesssupport@plymouth.ac.uk or contact your Finance Business Support Assistant. 

Research Support Team Email address Responsible for
Suzanne Ash suzanne.ash@plymouth.ac.uk
Geography, earth and environmental sciences
Ben Diffey ben.diffey@plymouth.ac.uk
Business and Peninsula Research Institute and PUPSMD
Mark Goodden mark.goodden@plymouth.ac.uk
Science and engineering (marine)
Leigh Hannam leigh.hannam@plymouth.ac.uk
Arts, School of Psychology, TIS, SERIO and Academic Partnerships
Rachel Harris rachel.harris@plymouth.ac.uk
Computing and mathematics
Zoe Jones zoe.jones@plymouth.ac.uk
Health and human sciences
Rosie Keast rosie.keast@plymouth.ac.uk
Education, R&I and PedRIO
Jayne Stanyer jayne.stanyer@plymouth.ac.uk
Science and engineering (biological) and PUPSMD
 





Research Admin Support Email address Responsible for
Antoinette Luxton antoinette.luxton@plymouth.ac.uk
Admin support all areas
Wendy Saunders wendy.saunders@plymouth.ac.uk
Admin support all areas
   
Research Accounting Manager Email address Responsible for
Emma Montgomery emma.montgomery@plymouth.ac.uk
Team Manager
Generic team email finance.businesssupport@plymouth.ac.uk
For general research finance enquiries

Location

We are based in the New Cooperage at the Royal William Yard, but have a presence on campus every Thursday between 9-12 noon and 2-4pm in the R&I Offices, 2nd Floor, Marine Building.